Wally Gieringer
Wallace A. (Wally) Gieringer, retired in 1994 as President of the Jefferson County Industrial Foundation and as Executive Director for the Pine Bluff-Jefferson County Port Authority at Pine Bluff, Arkansas. In that dual capacity, he was responsible for the community industrial development efforts since 1970. During that period investments by new and expanding industry in Pine Bluff and Jefferson County exceeded $1.4 billion and more than 4600 new industrial jobs were attracted.
Long active in waterway and river port development, Gieringer was a founding director and twice president of the Arkansas Oklahoma Port Operators Association (AOPOA). He was a founder and president of Inland Rivers Ports and Terminals (IRPT), a long time director and officer of the National Waterways Conference (NWC) and was elected Vice President Emeritus of that organization. He has also served as president of the Southern Industrial Development Council (SIDC) and Industrial Developers of Arkansas (IDA). Currently, Mr. Gieringer serves as a member of the NWC advisory board, and is Chairman of the Arkansas River Basin Interstate Committee.


For more than 30 years, Arthur T. Woodman chaired the Wichita Area Chamber of Commerce's Water Resources Committee. Woodman was recruited as a committee member by Don Pray in the late 1960s when Pray was committee chair. Within a short time he succeeded Pray and served in that capacity until 1994. The Chamber board voted him Life Membership that same year. In addition, Woodman served as chair of the Arkansas River Basin Development Association, an organization composed of representatives from Kansas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Missouri and Arkansas, and has also served as a member of the Mid-Ark River Valley Development Association-a subgroup of the five-state organization.
During his tenure as chair of the Chamber committee, Woodman helped develop the Kansas State Water Plan, helped make revisions to the Water Transfers Act and assisted with the City of Wichita water conservation plan. He also has worked on water and conservation legislation at the state and federal levels. Mr. Woodman is recognized as a leading authority on water resource matters both in Kansas and in the five-state region.


John D. Mayo
John Daniel Mayo was born in Clifton Hill, Missouri, 15 November 1881. He came to Tulsa with his brother Cass in the fall of 1902. The "Grand Old Man of the Arkansas Basin," a title bestowed on him by the late Sen. Robert S. Kerr, had spent nearly 70 years helping Tulsa grow from a community of 1600 to its glory days as "Oil Capitol." Mr. Mayo was one of the founders of who helped name the Arkansas Basin Development Association (ABDA). President Nixon honored Mayo in 1971, as the last of the original team that worked for the opening of the Arkansas waterway during dedication ceremonies at the Tulsa Port of Catoosa. Mr. Mayo died on October 25, 1972, at the age of 81.
Mayo's civic prominence gave weight to his support of the Arkansas River navigation system. The brothers built the present Mayo Building in 1910. The structure began with 5 stories and 5 more were added by 1917. By 1921, plans for the Mayo Hotel at 5th and Cheyenne Ave. were under way, and the building opened in 1925. The Mayo brothers also built other structures in downtown Tulsa. Mayo helped organize the Tulsa National Bank, which later became the First National Bank and Trust Company (Bank One). He was a founding member and director of the Tulsa Chamber of Commerce, was a member of the Commercial Club, and served as chairman of the United Way in 1931.

Return to Hall of Fame Index